Family History who do you think you are

Good evening all, just wondering do any of you do or pop in and out of family history and do you use the online research data bases?

1 Like

Hi Kazz, I don’t but I know @DianneWoollie has done a fair bit of research into her husbands ancestry.:slightly_smiling_face:

@Kazz I would like to Kazz but have never had time and live too far away from the family records in Derbyshire and birth dates etc .
My Dad’s cousin in Hastings traced the paternal line back to the 11 hundreds and the crusades, I would like to trace my mother’s line.

I dip in and out but watching programmes like who do you think you are gets my interest. I think I should do more people based my Aunts and cousins do loads too but given the lockdown travel restrictions may take the time to visit the locations etc.

I have some knowledge of my family history as has been handed down

Meg you can do lots and lots online; you should try interesting and what have you got to loose and it sucks up time like a sponge LOL

That’s impressive :slight_smile:

I started researching my family in 2003 when I retired and have been able to get back to the 1400s for one of my branches. I use the internet sites and have also visited various record centres around the country. I enjoy wandering around graveyards looking for family gravestones.

I have a story about my family that I like to tell. The basics are. My surname is, I say, an anglicised version of a Viking name & my ancestors settled in Scotland & then during the Scottish Battles for Independence were, being good Scottish people, fighting for that independence.

What a lot of people do not know, I then say, is the behaviour of the English after they won. My family. I claim. Lost their wealth & land to the barbarian English as a result of simply being Scottish.

But we still have the family title & my daughters will, I hope, inherit that title. Laird of the Islets of Langahans.

Not sure I understand the question. (?)