What would you advise your 40 year old self

Hello folks,

Hope you all had a nice weekend.

Sorry if this topic has already been covered.

There was quite a struggle in my life,
I was diagnosed with Kidney failure at 33, was on dialysis for next 6 years, kidney transplant done last year in August.

I have started thinking a lot about future & I want to live my life to the fullest.

I moved to UK 13 years ago for my MBA. I worked in the banking industry before my kidney diagnosis. I left the 9 to 5 industry after I started dialysis, now I drive taxi for living.

I have got tremendous respect for older people. There is so much to learn from them & that is why I am here, I am here for advise.

Its like I am about to embark on a journey and asking for advise from someone who has already been on that journey. ( advise on things like, pitfalls, traps, mistakes and lot more between the age 40 & 50)

Please do not get offended I m 40 and this group is for above 50 but it will be too late if I join when I am 50. I want to start “putting things right” now.

I will leave this group if you say so after I get replies from you. Thank you.

Kind regards,

5 Likes

Welcome to the forum! :wave:

Sorry to hear about your diagnosis. I hope you find the advice you’re looking for here.

I hope you enjoy the forum for other stuff too.

My advice to my younger self would be to try to go easier on myself. Life is hard enough without the self criticism. That might not apply to you. But that’s the advice I would give my younger self.

Hope you enjoy your stay here. :blush:

PS. Don’t worry about the age thing.

1 Like

Helloo Seeker.
I’m glad you are better.
I’m only 21 really and I’ve never learnt anything from this lot (only joking)

I would say don’t worry about what others think of you.They don’t know you as well as you do.

2 Likes

Don’t wait until 40 for life to start.

1 Like