Thin horizontal lines on monitor

when I first turn my computer on there are some thin horizontal lines on the screen, then it turns black ,then comes back on again, could t be the monitor or mouse

I’m no expert, but I’d say monitor, the mouse only moves the cursor plus right and left click .

thanks, I thought it might be the monitor, when the screen goes off then on again…

Or even the computer on the blink, they will fail eventually with constant on and off, our electronics guy at work say’s its best to leave them on even overnight .

I leave mine on overnight, what I mean by the screen going black when I turn it on, it’s when I turn the monitor on…my computer’s about 5 years old now

There are three possibilities:
1/ The graphics card in the computer may be faulty. A simple check can be made by hooking up to another monitor, but how easy that is depends of course upon what you’ve got be it laptop or desktop, etc.
2/ The cable from the graphics card to the monitor could be developing a fault. It’s an easy check on a desktop because you can just swap cables (and if you haven’t got one, they’re cheap & easy to source) but it’s a different story altogether on a laptop & can be much more complicated.
I have had these cables suddenly develop faults a few times over the years.
3/ The monitor/screen may be developing a fault. If it’s a seperate monitor from a desktop computer, first check that all cables are in place and are a good fit. If they are, try another screen if that is practicable.

You’ve not said whether it’s a laptop or a desktop but my suspicion from what you’ve said is that your screen is developing a fault, but I would be checking as above were it me.