Setting up new tablet for someone else - will they just need to enter their wifi password when they get home?

Please excuse what may be a silly question as I am not very technically minded. My sister is coming to visit me from another part of the country. She has never had a tablet and doesn’t know anything about them. I want to buy her one and set it up for her and show her the basics. So I will be using my broadband to set it up, with her email and apps etc. When she goes home, will it just be a question of talking her through going to settings, selecting WiFi, choosing her router from the list and putting in the router passcode? Or won’t it work if it’s been set up using my WiFi? Sorry if this is a stupid question.

2 Likes

I think all she needs to do when home is go to connections and choose her own wi fi and enter her wifi password. Yes you are correct.

But maybe there are other teccies who will help you further

What a lovely gift for your sister

2 Likes

Thank you susan. That’s what I thought, I just didn’t want to get it wrong and cause her problems!

1 Like

Hi @littleannie
It isn’t a stupid question but I think you have already got it sorted.
What you say is correct.

If you help your Sister set up the new tablet at your house, your Sister will be able to log onto to her own broadband when she goes home.

As you rightly say, all your Sis will need to do is log in to her own Broadband using her broadband password for the first time - after that, her device will usually log her into it automatically.

If you put the the Tablet WiFi Settings to automatically log into known networks but ask before logging into a new network, it will automatically log you into broadband networks you have used on that tablet before but it will not join a new network without asking you if you want to join an unknown network.
I think that is the best option to keep her safe from accidentally joining an unknown network without realising it.