Plastic Bags go up to 10p

I and delighted with this .
I have been waging my own private war on plastic bags for the las 30+ years .

1 Like

Don’t see the need TBH I haven’t seen many people having their goods bagged in ages. Most have their own or buy the dearer option at the checkout as they are better bags. So already paying 10p or more.

Still if it makes them feel they are doing something I guess it’ll make them feel better about themselves.

Never use them - always take my own.

I’m sure that placing ten pence on a bag in the UK will solve the world’s pollution problems…And who benefits from from all those ten pences?

How many of the worlds problems do we hope to solve by throwing money at them…Very few I suspect…:frowning:

They aren’t just putting 10p on the bag charge, they are also widening the legislation to smaller shops.

Have we banned plastic beads yet? What about glitter - that still seems to be everywhere and causes all sorts of problems too.

omg dont put the price up for goodness sake — just take them out of the shops altogether - defeating the object I say
we dont need the orrible carriers at all ’ quite sure we can come up with something useful and degradable - ib this day and age !!:cry:

I used to like sainsburys paper bags, they were pretty strong too.

Doggy poo bags are biodegradable.

Charities of the retailers choice.

ÂŁ66 million was raised in 2026-17

Should have gone to spec savers.

Hi

Forget plastic bags, we need to stop micro beads.

Too late for that Swims they are all in the food chain .

Even if they charged £20 for a plastic bag, it wouldn’t solve the problem. They need to be banned completely.

Here and everywhere else for it to be effective.

I completely agree. It is pointless us lot here doing our bit when the rest of the World doesn’t.

Yes Longdogs, that’s what I meant to say…I bet us in the UK only add a small percentage to the problem…
They should be banned worldwide…