Philadelphia International Records - A Selection

At the time of the legendary Philadelphia Sound, I was listening to something entirely different, always rock-referenced. Nevertheless, in a radio/TV era, I was inevitably exposed to other types of music and, against my will, “Philly” insinuated itself into my brain. I never bought any PIR records but some of the songs are still remarkably familiar, as I found out when, recently, I acquired “Philadelphia International Records – The 40th Anniversary Box Set” (10CD) (2012):

For starters:

Disc: 1

  1. Zach’s Fanfare
  2. K-Jee
  3. T.S.O.P. (The Sound of Philadelphia)
  4. Message in the Music
  5. Sexy
  6. Let’s Groove, Pt. 1
  7. Back Stabbers
  8. The Love I Lost
  9. When Will I See You Again
  10. I Love Music
  11. I’ll Always Love My Mama
  12. Year of Decision
  13. The Soul City Walk
  14. Bad Luck
  15. Do It Any Way You Wanna
  16. Philly Jump
  17. Take Good Care of Yourself
  18. Love Is the Message
  19. Show You the Way to Go
  20. Darlin’ Darlin’ Baby




Yes I was the same Omah but I managed to resist it :slight_smile:

1 Like

The girls (particularly Valerie Holiday) grabbed my attention:


1 Like


1 Like

Disc: 2

  1. Win Place or Show (She’s a Winner)
  2. 992 Arguments
  3. Dirty Ol’ Man
  4. Satisfaction Guaranteed (Or Take Your Love Back)
  5. Love Train
  6. Get Down with the Philly Sound
  7. Jam Jam Jam (All Night Long)
  8. A Nice Girl Like You
  9. If You Don’t Know Me By Now
  10. Me & Mrs Jones
  11. Wake Up Everybody
  12. For the Love of Money
  13. Don’t Leave Me This Way
  14. Livin’ for the Weekend
  15. You’ll Never Find Another Love Like Mine
  16. Free Love
  17. People Power
  18. Nobody Could Take Your Place



Disc: 3

  1. You’re the Reason Why
  2. Days Go By
  3. New York City’s a Lonely Town
  4. Stop and Think
  5. One Day of Peace
  6. The Devil Made Me Do It
  7. Who in the World
  8. Do You Like the Way I Love
  9. Never Let You Get Away from Me
  10. I’m a Changed Person
  11. If You Move, You Lose
  12. I’m So Glad I’m Me
  13. Can’t Believe That You Love Me [Version]
  14. You Bring Out the Best in Me
  15. Hey Baby
  16. Where Do We Go from Here
  17. Good & Plenty
  18. Yellow Sunshine
  19. To Be Happy Is the Real Thing
  20. It’s Forever

TBH, I don’t know many of the tracks on this CD … :man_shrugging:

Track Listings

Disc: 4

  1. Where Are All My Friends
  2. Summertime and I M Feeling Mellow
  3. Let Life Flow
  4. If You Wanna Go Back
  5. It’s Hard Not to Like You
  6. Party Time Man
  7. Everyone’s a Star
  8. Your Love Is Good
  9. The Whole Town’s Talking
  10. So Glad I M the One
  11. Keep on Lovin’ You
  12. Yes You Need Love
  13. It Ain’t Reggae (But It S Funky)
  14. (You’re the One) Someone Special
  15. Keep Smilin’
  16. I’m in Love Once Again
  17. The Whole Town’s Laughing at Me
  18. Sooner or Later

Jean Carn - I’m In Love Once Again

Harold Melvin & The Blue Notes - Where Are All My Friends

The Futures - Part Time Man

Teddy Pendergrass-The Whole Town’s Laughing At Me.

Disc: 5

  1. Let S Make a Baby
  2. Now That We Found Love
  3. Blues Away
  4. I Believe in Love
  5. Easy, Easy, Got to Take It Easy
  6. I Bet She Won’t Love You Like I Do
  7. Used Ta Be My Girl
  8. Strength of One Man
  9. See You When I Git There
  10. Only You
  11. Intro/My Love Don’t Come Easy
  12. Come on and Dance Dance Dance
  13. This Feeling Is Killing Me
  14. Let 'Em in
  15. Picture Us
  16. Life Goes on
  17. Lady Love
  18. Where Will You Go When the Party’s Over?

Disc: 6

  1. The More I Get, the More I Want
  2. Stop and Think It Over
  3. Living Together
  4. (No, No) You Can’t Come Back Now
  5. You Can’t Hide from Yourself
  6. (I’m Just Thinking About) Cooling Out
  7. Only the Strong Survive
  8. Used Ta Be My Guy
  9. I Don’t Love You Anymore
  10. To Prove I Love You
  11. Things Are Gonna Get Better
  12. Not the Staying Kind
  13. Holdin’ on
  14. Don’t Let Love Get You Down
  15. Let’s Clean Up the Ghetto
  16. You Gonna Make Me Love Somebody Else
  17. What S the Matter with the World?
  18. When Somebody Loves You Back

Disc: 7

  1. Life on Mars
  2. Soncer (The Infinite Hour Glass)
  3. Tight Money
  4. Compared to What
  5. For the Love of Money
  6. Something for Nothing
  7. Lover Man (Oh Where Can You Be)
  8. Manhattan Skyline
  9. In Good Faith
  10. Reality
  11. Forever with You
  12. My Favourite Person
  13. I Ain’t Jivin, I’m Jammin
  14. Mysteries of the World
  15. Theme from the Planets
  16. Malorie

Disc: 8

  1. Come Go with Me
  2. Don’t Let It Go to Your Head
  3. Mine All Mine
  4. I’m in Love Again
  5. Brandy
  6. The Sweetest Pain
  7. Ain’t No Time Fa Nothing
  8. When I M Gone
  9. Turn Off the Lights
  10. I Can’t Stop (Turning You on)
  11. I’ve Been Pushed Aside
  12. We Got Some Catchin’ Up to Do
  13. Maybe It’s Love This Time
  14. Who Can I Run to
  15. Close the Door
  16. Children of the Night

:sunglasses: :sunglasses: :sunglasses: :sunglasses:

1 Like

Disc: 9

  1. Ain’t No Stoppin’ Us Now
  2. Was That All It Was
  3. Bring the Family Back
  4. Nights Over Egypt
  5. Put Our Heads Together
  6. Keep It Comin’
  7. I Heard It in a Love Song
  8. The Spirit’s in It
  9. Strut Your Funky Stuff
  10. What’s Your Name
  11. Dance Turned Into Romance
  12. Strategy
  13. I Love You Anyway
  14. Bet Your Lucky Star
  15. Let Me Be Good to You

:icon_cool: :icon_cool: :icon_cool: :icon_cool:

1 Like

Disc: 10

  1. Love You Direct
  2. Ain’t You Had Enough Love
  3. Somebody’s Gotta Move
  4. Do You Get Enough Love
  5. First Time Together
  6. I Can’t Forget You
  7. Hurry Up This Way Again
  8. Easy Money
  9. Summer Fling
  10. This Too Shall Pass
  11. Baby Don’t Go Away Mad
  12. She Knew About Me
  13. If Only You Knew
  14. Extraordinary Girl
  15. Heaven Only Knows
  16. Baby Don’t Go Yet

:icon_cool: :icon_cool: :icon_cool:

Cest tout, mes amis … :102: