Peaceful mind

I would love to have a peaceful mind - empty all worrying thoughts & just feel calm.
I was thinking of learning meditation in the hope that it might help me.

Does anybody on here practice it and how would I get started?

Do I need to go to a class?

3 Likes

it can easily be self taught from a cheapish manual but joining a group gives greater motivation. I used to join a weekly friday night buddhist group with tea and biscuits later and a library to browse through? - I loved the silent practice but the companionship later was nourishing too

2 Likes

Do you have a gym or health centre near you, that offers tai chi or yoga? Even that might help, I would think.

I am also wondering if another visit to your GP after your little holiday might benefit too. Let them know how you are feeling. Don’t try to struggle through this alone. Maybe give them a call while away, get an appointment asap. Hugs.

1 Like

OK, here are a few comments, probably not in perfectly flowing English prose, but you should get the idea

Like almost anything now, you can learn from YouTube but it is better to find some sort of course or group, for the explanations and the company. But if you can’t learning on your own is better than not doing anything

Search t’Net for courses, classes in your area, sports/leisure centres, ask at your doctor, consider a residential course/holiday, get a book, have you got a friend who would like to join you?, your local hippy/bohemian/alternative/vegetarian shop or cafe, community centres/Buddhist centre

There are various things you could do - meditation, yoga, tai chi, mindfulness; play around with the Search Box on YT, you’re bound to find something that takes your fancy.
It doesn’t have to be directly related to meditation, for example I make model planes and you can quite easily get lost in that. Same goes for other crafts & hobbies