Novice overseas traveler seeks advice!

As Muddy frequently points out, I have never been abroad.
Absolute novice overseas traveler.

But wifey and I intend to visit the UK early in 2017 for about 4 weeks.
We’d like to spend a fair bit of that time checking-out the places our forebears came from - Inverness, Paisley, Dublin, Wexford and (wouldja believe ?) Kent.

We’d be ready to go anytime from January on but, coming from tropical Queensland, Australia, we hate cold.
Around May/June has been suggested ?

Maybe a week or ten days to “see” England.

Any advice re timing or an itinerary ?

Cost is not too much of an issue.
I don’t mean 5-star stuff but hardly backpacker joints either.
Middle level I guess. Maybe B&Bs.

We realize that the time-frame will only enable us to get a snapshot of the place.

You’ll be dropping into the capital will you?
London is always a must and loved by the tourists.
A red London bus , once seen, is never forgotten.
St Paul’s Cathedral in the background is always worth a visit too. Great early English architecture.

http://i.dailymail.co.uk/i/pix/2013/03/24/article-2298553-18E5CED9000005DC-591_634x361.jpg

Finsbury Park Mosque is worth a visit too.

And often best to plan ahead unless you want to get snarled in traffic.

http://media.gettyimages.com/photos/muslims-pray-on-a-residential-street-outside-finsbury-park-mosque-in-picture-id3394535

Be aware also that in almost every other house at cat will reside.

Apologies Pummy, this won’t be very helpful.

With our weather, you really can’t guarantee anything. Who knows what May or June will be like. Personally I would have thought somewhere around July to Sept might be warmer.

Have you nothing planned regarding your itinerary? If not, you surprise me TBH. I thought most folk who were visiting another country had stuff planned in advance regarding sights/places of interest.

Have you done a reccie online of the places of interest and B & Bs in the places you are visiting?