Not Learning To Drive

Out of curiosity, do we have any members here who can’t drive?

I know for some due to medical reasons ,some are unable to learn to drive…

My window cleaner was unable to learn to drive as he suffers with epileptic fits.

Also are you a driver?..and how long have you been driving for?

Over 40 years I’ve been driving.

I can drive, I even passed my test, but I don’t.

I’m just rubbish at it and dangerous. Plus terrified. They have to unpeel my fingers off the steering wheel when I’ve driven, Because I’ve been holding on in a vice like grip :scream:

3 Likes

I have been driving for the last 60 years, that hardly seems possible but it is. That includes motorcycles too. Unfortunately my insurance company will only give me a maximum of nine years No Claims Bonus, they seem to object to giving me the other 51 years for some reason! Depending on the discount but it’s probably as that might mean free insurance every year!
:grinning:

1 Like

That’s a shame Maree, I can understand your concern, you know your capabilities.

My sister in law learnt to drive, but never went for her test as she said it wasn’t for her, she is also of a very nervous disposition…:frowning:

1 Like

60 years under your belt, probably one of the safest drivers on the road…have you ever had an accident?

You have just described my sister perfectly.
Who takes after our mum, who stopped driving in the late 1970’s because it started to terrify her too.

2 Likes

I passed my test in 1969 at the 3rd time of asking.

1 Like

I’ve been driving for 62+yrs and also an IAM Road-Smart (cat 2) member who also has been through Pass Plus. Am I safe? All of UK drivers should be continuously learning, including me and also keeping up to date with the latest Highway Code, so hopefully I am safer that some drivers using the highways and country lanes of this country.

2 Likes