MP3 Volume Levelling on a Windows 10 PC

For many years, when importing MP3s to my Acer PCs, I processed them using GoldWave Audio Editor, adjusting balance and volume. The PCs used RealTek drivers with a manager user interface. The results were always satisfactory.

Having switched to Dell PCs, I now find that MP3 volume levels occasionally vary, even though Dell use RealTek drivers.

The final link in my MP3 processing chain is the MediaMonkey player, which, I note, has Volume Levelling capability. This is a function that I have never used so, before I dabble with my 50,000 track MP3 collection, I thought I’d ask for recommendations and advice, if anyone has any … :slightly_smiling_face:

This much I know (from the MM manual):

Volume Leveling

When tracks are digitally encoded from different sources and using different encoders or encoder settings, they will invariably play back at different volumes on different players and devices. Several technologies have evolved to deal with this problem, and it’s useful to understand them so that you use the approach that best meets your needs:

Replay Gain