HGV Driving as a career?

HGV drivers are being offered up to £50,000 pa now, due to a supposed
shortage of people willing to do the job ??
I think it is a good thing ! Let the market decide what it is worth !
After all the justice system and other professions have for years cited the
shortage of judges etc as the reason for the high costs of their services ??
It’s about time the other end of society started doing it as well, ??
Donkeyman! :+1::grin::+1:

For years employers have been getting away with paying low wages to pretty much everyone except themselves.
I was a delivery driver and the wages were shocking so good to see that there are changes for the better.

3 Likes

It’s not all about income and some of the problem is all down to logistics where loads do not connect and deliveries arrive late which makes for bad driver relations and ill feelings. Also after some long runs there are no or very little in the way of facilities for drivers.

I believe that the amount of pay one receives should equate to how much demand there is for your services. Consequently, lorry drivers are now going to get what they deserve.

However, as Long Driver says, in addition to the money the whole system needs to be organised better, though I’m not sure what better facilities for the drivers are needed as I’ve never been one.

That sounds good, but the normal working week for an HGV driver is 15 hours per day for 5 days plus alternate 6th day working due to that being permitted under tachograph law.

Also, many drivers are away from home tramping around the country or Europe all week, or on occasions for longer. And an HGV driver does not overnight in a hotel, it’s their cab & with minimal places available to park in safe-ish locations with toilets etc, it’s normally a layby now. With all the risks that brings.