Hair colour

I’m thinking of having a go at home hair colouring. I’m about 50/50 grey/dark brown. I want to keep the dark brown but highlight the grey - maybe make it golden brown or similar.

Can anybody recommend any colourants that will alter the grey but leave the dark colour as it is?

I’m a novice at this - never coloured my hair since I tried henna when I was 20!!

https://i.postimg.cc/gkbhMPwZ/c.jpg

I use Colour Effects by Superdrug. It only costs a pound and is semi permanent. I don’t have a lot of grey in my medium brown hair, - its kind of in patches - but what I discovered is that this stuff highlights the grey to look like golden brown highlights, while darkening the rest of my hair to a reddish brown (because the colour I choose is 6.4 Rich Red). I’m sure it would do the same if you wanted more of a warmer brown for yourself. It washes out in about 8 washes, so you can change if you don’t like it. :slight_smile:

I have no idea about color Carol - sorry. Please post the end results

I might be completely white by then. :slight_smile:

Just thinking about it and gathering information at the mo…

I am not an expert either but you have to be careful with grey in case it turns out ginger.

Hi

You look lovely as you are.

I was thinking about a home colour too Carol but like you I’m a bit scared to try and there are so many products available… its very confusing…I might try a semi permanent as Pixie suggested then at least if I don’t like it it will wash out…eventually.

Good luck let’s know how you get on

I quite often use Belle Colour in one of their blonde/brown shades. My hair’s grey now and for a few weeks it looks really good - a golden light brown. I find however that these colours just seem to slide off my hair after a few washes and after a month there’s nothing to see. Perhaps I could try a different make. They do give my hair a lovely shine though, which conditioner never does.

Aw thanks swimmy.:slight_smile:

I may try Pixies suggestion too.