Coronation invitation, does Charles see himself as the Green Man?

For a a Republican I’m probably taking too much interest in the Coronation, apologies!

But as an artist, I love the invitation designed by Andrew Jamieson

But look, right in the middle at the bottom is a Green Man!

He’s from U.K. folklore, pagan connections and you often see him carved right into churches and architecture

He’s about rebirth, re growth and Spring and to do with Robin Hood and Puck and Jack-in-the-Green in May Day parades

I’m loving it, I bet that’s who greenie King Charles sees himself as!

New coronation robe?

4 Likes

Ole Chas has been green long before it became fashionable to be so. He is the original tree hugger of his generation :wink::grin:

1 Like

That’s a beautiful invitation, more colorful than I thought it would be. I wouldn’t have noticed the green man. Thanks for the history.

1 Like

Do you know, I’m warming to him!

I think he’s a bit of a snob and doesn’t live in the real world or understand it, really

But he’s stuck by Camilla, who is his true love, by making her Queen

And the doddery old fool is quite a character, pottering around his plants and pretending to be a farmer

Not worth the money we spend on them of course, and morally wrong to have a non-elected head of state based on privilege of birth

So, OFF WITH HIS HEAD and long live the Republic

But I do rather like the idea of him as the Green Man as long as he promises not to do naked fertility dances with Camilla on the lawns of Buck House :rofl:

1 Like

If the old queen mother had not interfered and set her sights on Di, the whole history thing would not have unfurled the way it has. He was always taken with Camilla but she got fed up waiting for him to stand up for himself.

3 Likes

That’s true, I think, but their’s is the real love story. Perhaps he’s making up now for letting himself be pushed around over her?