Car breakdown cover

When I bought my mini 3 years ago I bought a package which included breakdown cover , this runs out in January .

My mini is 5 years old never had any issues , I am a townie driver and only drive long distance twice a year to Surrey from Dorset . Should I buy new cover , who with and which level would be best do you think .

Thankyou for your advice

1 Like

Which Magazine ratings:

I’m with Start:

*** Cover costs me £40 pa.

1 Like

Maybe talk to your insurer.

I’ve been with aviva the last couple of years, and they have a habit of including RAC cover with their annual policy. I suppose nothing is free, but I’m not sure I’d get the insurance cheaper if I said I didn’t want the breakdown cover.

You could open another bank acocunt which includes breakdown cover. https://www.moneysavingexpert.com/banking/best-packaged-bank-accounts/

It depends on the gamble you are willing to take, a 5 year old mini is at the point where reliability drops off, if you had no cover and you broke down away from home how would you proceed in getting your car to where you need it to go, either home or to a garage, does your cover include home start?, if you are going out and your car won’t start how are you going to get it started ?, I would check what cover you need, a lot of cover offered by banks, insurance providers may not have the cover you want,

1 Like

Interesting to read your replies I shall look into it before end of the month

Thanks all

Can I also ask about airosole puncture repair kits , which is the best one to buy , one car breakdown states a kit must be carried in the car as I don’t have spare tyre

1 Like

Good points … :+1:

Start *** Option offers everything except Europe, Theft, Vandalism and Driver Illness/Injury:

Doesn’t membership of the AA/RAC cover this?

Perhaps I misunderstand the cover. I ama member of the NRMA and for just under $300 I get the following Austrslia wide: