Any horror stories from Restaurant experiences?

I worked in the kitchen of an upmarket Restaurant in Cottesloe, Perth.
Chef was very pretentious. Took a dislike to a lot of customers.
One day a customer whom he had a dislike for ordered a Steak. Chef threw the raw Steak on the floor before cooking it.

When I was an apprentice with the GPO in Folkestone I was with a fitter installing a new telephone in the kitchen of one of the poshest (Victorian) hotels. We could have run the cable without staples there was so much grease and dirt on the walls the cable would have stuck there without any mechanical help.

For that reason I never complain …

1 Like

Not a horror story but I went to the pub with my wife and ordered two steaks. After about 15 minutes the first steak arrived (medium rare which was mine) I began to eat and noticed the chef kept peeping out from behind the kitchen door. 5 minutes went by and the second steak still hadn’t arrived, we looked toward the bar staff to try to get their attention but the were all busy even though the pub was empty. (They were obviously avoiding eye contact.)
We were wondering what was taking so long and again noticed the chef peeping a through the gap of the door. :eyes:
By the time I eventually finished my meal the wife was fuming so we went to speak to the bar staff. We explained we’d ordered 2 steaks but only one had arrived. The girl replied “oh sorry about that, the kitchen only had one steak left, would you like to order something else?”
My wife declined as I’d already finished my meal and she too would now have to eat on her own.
The girl behind the counter went to the till and gave us back the money for one of the steaks.