Anti Virus Software

AV Software

Is it really necessary nowadays on a home computer?

Do You have it installed on your machine? And, if so, are you paying for it, or is it free?

McAfee was included on my new PC, it’s just expired after 3 months, I’m getting emails and pop-ups saying it should be renewed/paid for. I’ve been using my W10 laptop for 5 years with no AV, no prob.

So I googled it and, once past all the sites that directly or indirectly want to sell you some, I found this:

"… most experts agree that the built-in antivirus protections on any major system … already protect against viruses just as well as the major programs people can pay for. It’s important, however, for users to keep their systems protected through automatic software updates offered by all major software providers.
… Microsoft Defender, the free and automatic antivirus program now built into Windows, has gotten so effective that it’s as good as anything customers can pay for … "

nbc news

1 Like

Mac’s have a firewall built in, along with a number of other security features :smiley:

Linux machines also have similar firewalls.

Windows… not so sure :lol:

1 Like

Microsoft Defender antivirus review

Microsoft Defender is a free built-in antivirus for Windows OS. It was previously known as Windows Defender until the 10th of May, 2020, and now also appears as Windows Security in the newest Windows 10 updates.

It is a convenient antivirus solution for Windows users and has a bunch of security features centered around device and online protection from spyware, adware, ransomware, and other malware. The fact that Windows Defender comes built-in and completely free for all Windows devices also adds to the universal appeal of the antivirus software.

However, despite its convenience and somewhat acceptable protection capabilities, Microsoft Defender is lacking in some departments, and users are still left to fend for themselves when it comes to certain online threat-related situations.