Affordable starter piano keyboard

Hi all, just thinking new year, new hobby - what about learning to play the piano finally and then ding I realised you don’t need one of those big pieces of stringed nightmare to move and tune dinosaurs these days. Not when you can buy an electronic keyboard with lessons built in or included.

But then I started to look at reviews and now I am confused. Apparently touch-sensitive keys are a thing to desire and so is a function that mimics the pedal on a piano. Help! Does anyone here have experience of this/musical talents and understanding? I’m a total novice other than learning to play stairway to heaven and house of the rising sun on a boyfriend’s acoustic guitar age 19…(still remember the callouses)

2 Likes

Learning to play the keyboard is the best and easiest way to learn how to read and understand music. Learning chords will enable you to play just about anything including how to improvise.
In my opinion, learning how music is created is one of life’s most fulfilling opportunities. The keyboard is probably one of the most versatile instruments you can learn. It also has the added advantage of being portable, unlike a standard piano. Learning keyboard will give you hours of entertainment. Go for it. I doubt you’ll regret it.
Most of all, have fun. I think you’ll enjoy it and find it very rewarding.

Note: The pedals aren’t really an important aspect of learning the keyboard. I never used the pedals. Volume control can usually be done merely by either pressing harder or softer on the keys. For now, don’t even think about them.

1 Like

The beauty of those electronic keyboards is the headphone socket.
Also for around £100 delivered you can buy a 61 Key Full Size Digital Electronic Keyboard Kit Inc Stand, Stool and Headphones.
I’ve recently bought 2 NJS keyboards (as above) as presents and the young recipients are thrilled with them. Drop me a line and I’ll share the supplier’s details

1 Like